John Howard Society of Kawartha Lakes & Haliburton

About Us

Mission Statement

“Effective, just, and humane responses to crime and its causes.”

The John Howard Society of Kawartha Lakes and Haliburton provides evidence-based programming to reduce the risks of crime and its’ causes. Our team encompass the education and experience to support individuals, community members and families in need of counselling and supports. Our philosophy is No Wrong Door, everyone who requests services will be provided with supports including referrals and additional resources.

We are here to help!

History

John Howard was an 18th century Englishman who was captured by the French while sailing from England to Spain. He subsequently spent five years in French dungeons before returning to England as part of a prisoner exchange. Eventually, he was made the Sheriff of Bedford, a post which included among its duties, the task of inspecting local prisons. Few sheriffs actually bothered to carry out these duties but John Howard was different. Shocked by the corruption, stench, filth, starvation and disease he saw in the jails, he dedicated his life to improving prison conditions throughout England, Wales and continental Europe. His famous report on the state of prisons in England and Wales led to legislation against the more obvious evils of the system, and slowly moved public opinion to favour more humane prison conditions.

There are many organizations around the world which use the name John Howard. Most of them are associated with correctional reform and/or services to help offenders make positive changes in their lives. Although the organizations outside of Canada are not formally aligned, they share a common purpose and philosophy which reflects the life and work of the late John Howard.

In Ontario, the John Howard Society was founded in 1929 by Brigadier General Draper, then the Chief of Police in Toronto. Draper recognized the futility in much of the work being done by police when prisoners who were being released from jail were thrust into circumstances of unemployment, isolation and poverty – circumstances that escalate rather than decrease the chances of re-offending.

Management

Executive Director
Lois Powers – lpowers@jhscklh.on.ca

Director of Risk Management
Robbin Savage – rsavage@jhscklh.on.ca

Assistant Executive Director
Shannon Speirs – sspeirs@jhscklh.on.ca

Director of Finance
Mary Goddard – mgoddard@jhscklh.on.ca

Manager of Youth Services
Carla Cooper – ccooper@jhscklh.on.ca

Manager of Skills Development, Outreach Literacy and Harm Reduction
Bob Gaudette – bgaudette@jhscklh.on.ca

Board of Directors

Terry Cox 
President

Jaclyn Giffen
Secretary

Mike Cavanagh
Treasurer

Tom Hickey
Director

Eleanor Cavanagh 
Director

Adam Ranger
Director

Amy Farr
Director

For our Client Complaints Policy, please click here.

Link to CRA/ T3010

View our CRA/T3010 Charitable Organization Designation

Accessibility Policy:

Click to view our Accessibility Policy

Annual Report:

Click to view our 2020-2021 Annual Report

Audited financial statements 2021:

Click to view our Audited financial statements 2021