Our Organization

The John Howard Society of Ontario has grown to include 19 local offices and over 700 staff and 750 volunteers. In 1967, the John Howard Society of Ontario obtained its registered charitable status. Together with the other provincial and territorial offices, the John Howard Society of Ontario is a member of the John Howard Society of Canada.

JHSO is accredited under Imagine Canada’s Standards Program for excellence in fundraising, financial accountability and transparency, governance, management and volunteer involvement.

Our Role

The John Howard Society of Ontario performs two complementary functions. The Centre of Research & Policy provides cutting-edge non-partisan research, evidence-based programming, policy development, and informative education material. In addition, we provide administrative support to all of our local offices across Ontario.

Our Staff

JHSO Staff

Paula Osmok Executive Director
Maureen Zuniga Human Resources & Administrative Coordinator
Miranda Queh Financial Coordinator
Erika Chang Human Resources & Administrative Assistant
Reza Ahmadi Director of Research & Evaluation
Jacqueline Tasca Director of Partnerships & Strategic Initiatives
Safiyah Husein Senior Policy Analyst
Jonathan Robart Legal Program Developer
Hannah Cook Research Analyst
Meaghan Costa Research Analyst
Alexa Hassan Research Analyst

JHSO Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the John Howard Society of Ontario consists of 27 community member volunteers from across Ontario. Of this group 8 are “directors at large” and the remaining 19 are nominated by and from each local office of the Society. This system allows for representation from all the communities in which we are located and ensures that their unique needs are addressed. Our Board follows the Carver model of governance and meets four times per year with meetings of our various committees interspersed throughout the year.

Executive Committee

Bruce Simpson President
Ron Cuthbert Vice-President
Vacant Treasurer
Rob MacLellan Secretary
Trisha Simpson Executive Committee Member-at-large
Rob Thibodeau Executive Committee Member-at-large
Pauline Wainwright Executive Committee Member-at-large


Sheila Arthurs Michael Bryant
Gyan Chandra Gerry Croteau
Christopher Fleury Abb Gilbert
Jill Hillman Mary Jane Kingston
Jean LeDrew-Metcalfe Sandy Lychowyd
Hermon Mayers Paul Mundra
Christina Ninham John Rives
Michael V. Sabo Dan Smith
Gary Schnurr